Commodity news

IFFO elects president and vice president for 2024-2025

Egil Magne Haugstad, CEO of Pelagia, has been elected as president and Eduardo Goycoolea, one of the IFFO founders, as vice president.

Egil Magne Haugstad (left) and Eduardo Goycoolea (right)
October 26, 2023

Following elections for the new IFFO Management Board, IFFO – The Marine Ingredients Organisation elected Egil Magne Haugstad as president and Eduardo Goycoolea as vice president.

Egil Magne Haugstad is the CEO of Pelagia AS and the current vice president of IFFO. Pelagia’s head office is in Norway with factories concentrated in the North Atlantic. Its fishmeal and oil factories are in Norway, England, Scotland and Ireland. Pelagia is also the largest producer of pelagic seafood globally and high-quality omega-3 concentrates in Norway. Pelagia runs the biggest fleet of vessels collecting byproducts categories 3 and 2 from the salmon industry.

“IFFO members are extremely important for producing marine ingredients, which are essential for the food industry and the well-being of an ever-growing global population. IFFO members work in a responsible manner and continuously encourage further development in science-based projects such as the ongoing life cycle assessment analysis. I look forward to contributing to developing knowledge and competence within the marine ingredients sector. We will also explore how IFFO can keep developing its services and be an even better meeting place for our industry,” Haugstad said.

Following his appointment as vice president, Eduardo Goycoolea, who was one of the founders and first co-president of IFFO back in 2001 when it was created, stated, “I have worked closely with IFFO for many years and helped it become the reference point for the marine ingredients industry. IFFO’s events provide an unrivaled opportunity for the whole value chain to meet, while the organization’s market and technical intelligence keeps developing. I am truly happy to continue supporting the organization and its members.”

Outgoing board members committed to IFFO’s development as a science-based organization are Odd Eliasen and Nick Sterrett. Armando Coppel and Dan James are the new board members. C